Groups Page: Overview

A high-level overview of the Groups page in RiskSense.

The Groups page allows a user to create organizational (and permission-based) folders within RiskSense. By default, RiskSense places all new assets into the Default Group. RiskSense recommends creating several groups to move assets into, leaving the Default Group as a place to quickly find new hosts/assets as they are scanned and surfaced in RiskSense. You can create groups based on asset type, location, team, etc. Assets can belong to multiple groups.

Who can use the Groups page?

The ability to view the Groups page is available to users with the Core Read IAM privilege. The ability to create, modify, delete groups and view all groups regardless of membership is housed in the following IAM privilege:

  • Group Control: Create, modify, and delete groups. Can view all groups regardless of their group membership.

This privilege is provided in the Administrator and Data Manager Foundational Roles and the Group Owner Supplemental Role. It can also be added to a custom IAM role.

Overview

Navigate to the Organize > Groups page.

Groups Page - Groups Page Location-1

Filters: As with other pages in RiskSense, you can apply filters to the Groups page.

Groups Page - Filters

Card View Toggle: Click this icon (Groups - Card View Icon Small) to switch the list view to card view, where the RS³ score is prominently displayed for each group. Click the (Groups - List View Icon Small)  button to change the card view to the list view. For more information, see Toggling Between the Groups Page's Card and List Views.

Groups Page - Card Select

Refresh: Click to refresh the page to view any changes made.

Groups Page - Refresh

Export: Export row information for the selected group(s).

Groups Page - Export Button

Create: Click to create a new group. For more information, see Creating a Group.

Groups Page - Create Button

Edit Group: Click to edit the selected group's name. For more information, see Editing a Group.

Groups Page - Edit Group Button

Delete Group(s): Click to delete the selected groups.

Groups Page - Delete Group

Assign to Users: After selecting one or more groups, you can assign users to groups. After assigning users to groups, that assignee can see the group and its corresponding hosts/findings.

Groups Page - Assign to Users Button

Sorting Drop-Down List: This list allows the groups to be sorted in a variety of ways.

Groups Page - Page Sort

Column Sort: Click a column to sort your groups using that column’s data. Click the column again to change the sort from ascending to descending and vice versa.

Groups Page - Column Sort

List View Settings: Click this button to change the list view column’s order, hide/show available page columns, and change the list view’s appearance.

Groups Page - List View Settings