Reworking a Remediation

How to send a remediation request back to the user for rework.

The remediation workflow serves as acknowledgement that the vulnerability has been fixed or removed. For cases where an organization remediates a vulnerability, the RiskSense platform provides an option to mark that finding as a Remediation (RM).

Only managers and group managers can send remediation requests back to users for rework.

To rework a remediation request, navigate to either the Network > Host Findings or Application > Application Findings pages. For this example, we will show you how to rework a remediation using the Network > Host Findings page.

Host Findings Menu Location-2

Select the RM Requested finding(s) you want reworked by clicking the check box in the page’s first column. You may select several vulnerabilities at a time for reworking remediation. If you are having trouble finding remediation requests, see Filtering for Remediation Requests.

Remediation Rework - Selecting Host Findings

Click the Workflow button at the top of the list view.

Remediation Rework - Workflow Button Location

In the Workflow drop-down menu, click Rework under the Remediation category. This option can be used for single and multiple vulnerabilities.

Remediation Rework - Rework Remediation Menu Location

You may also select a single vulnerability and right click the line item to select workflow options from the pop-up menu. Note that using the right-click option only works for a single row, as designated in the screenshot below.

Remediation Rework - Rework Remediation Right Click Menu Location

Clicking Workflow > Remediation > Rework brings up the Rework Remediation window.

Remediation Rework - Rework Remediation Window

In the provided text box, enter the reason for reworking the remediation request. Once complete, click Apply.

When a remediation request is reworked, the state changes to RM Reworked.

Remediation Rework - State Changed to RM Reworked